Co-Sleeping and the Snuzpod Review

ruth crilly model

I wasn’t really aware of the concept of co-sleeping until I was about eight months pregnant – I think I’ve mentioned before that I had a complete mental block about anything that might happen after pregnancy. ie, a baby. I was so focused on just hanging on to my pregnancy and making sure that everything was okay that it wasn’t until the last couple of months that I started reading up about parenting and looking after a newborn.

So anyway, I was unaware of that co-sleeping was a “thing” that people had opinions on. I hadn’t thought too much about where the baby would sleep, or what in – I suppose I thought that I would do what most people I knew had done: Moses basket next to the bed for the first however many months and then a cot in the nursery after that. Until I went to visit a friend who had just had her second baby and she had a funny wooden contraption stuck to the side of her own bed. A cot, but with only three sides, and the fourth side open against the adult bed, with the cot mattress at exactly the same height as the adult mattress.

This three-sided cot was called, my friend informed me, a bedside cot or co-sleeper cot. And my first thought was: brilliant, that saves you getting in and out of bed, doesn’t it?!

Further research when I returned home introduced me to the whole co-sleeping debate, which seems to be a bit of a hot topic and one that is totally confusing. As far as I can make out, co-sleeping is officially thought to be fine, so long as you haven’t been drinking, smoking, taking drugs or are so tired that you might unknowingly roll on or smother your baby. Now that’s a bit of a grey area, isn’t it, because when you’re a new mum you’re always really tired! How are you supposed to know how tired really tired is? Who falls asleep in the first place, unless they’re really tired?

I really didn’t know what to make of this information, especially after I’d come home with the baby and the health visitors and midwives kept drilling home the co-sleeping “rules” every time they popped over. It made me really panicky, actually – “don’t fall asleep when breastfeeding!”, “put the baby in its cot if you start to feel tired!” – and I’m not sure that I needed to be. I mean millions of mothers must be feeding their babies at any one time, and surely lots of them are having a little doze with the baby next to them? Or living in places where a cot would be an unimaginable luxury? Or living in places where babies are just kept close to the mother at all times, whether strapped to the mother’s body or lying in the same bed?

But as I said, this whole co-sleeping concept was quite new to me, so I didn’t really know which way I was leaning. Actually that’s a lie. I did. If I was being absolutely honest, I didn’t really want a baby in my bed full-time. I have enough to contend with sharing it with a man. I spend half of the night telling him to stop snoring and the other half of it worrying whether or not he’s going to strangle himself in the cord of his headphones! (He listens to the radio in his sleep. Don’t even go there.) So, selfishly, the idea of having a tiny baby in the bed didn’t fill me with enthusiasm – I’m a worrier, and I would have assumed a kind of ramrod straight position for the entire night, stiff with anxiety, not daring to move my arms or shift my weight.

Which was why a bedside crib seemed like such an enormously good idea to me. The baby is kept as close as can be (my face is a foot away from the baby’s when we are both going to sleep!) but there’s no stress or anxiety, if indeed you are stressed or anxious about the rolling-on-baby risk. In the bedside crib, the baby has his or her own little space, you have yours, but really, to all intents and purposes, you’re sharing a bed. Feeding through the night is a cinch – just slide ’em over (baby, not boobs! Unless they stretch that far…) and you’re good to go. If you’ve had a c-section it’s even more of a bonus because you don’t have to do any bending and lifting at awkward angles.

co-sleeping cot review

My Mum bought me my Snuzpod bedside crib (above) as a present, but she did take a bit of convincing on the whole semi-co-sleeping idea. “Why can’t you use a Moses basket like everyone else?” Answer: because a Moses basket, though you can place it next to your bed, has wicker sides and is a completely different kettle of fish. The bedside crib is part of your bed, almost, whereas anything else is standalone and you don’t have the same feeling of closeness with the baby. I’m not meaning to be soppy (and feel free to roll your eyes if you wish!) but it is the best feeling going to sleep and hearing your baby breathing right next to your face. Sometimes I wake up holding Angelica’s little hand. And in the night, I seem to be subconsciously aware of her being there and I often check that she’s okay, and not too hot or cold, without really waking up at all. So I suppose those are the benefits, for me, and I think that they are brilliant benefits: convenience, closeness, peace of mind.

co-sleeping bedside crib

So I would absolutely recommend a bedside crib – I went for the Snuzpod because it could be adjusted to fit to a really wide range of adult bed heights, it looked beautiful, the side panel was easy to zip up or down and the construction was sturdy and well thought-out. There were a couple of others that I checked out – the Chicco (here) and the Babybay (here) – but the Snuzpod best fit my requirements and taste*. You can find it online here**. At £169 (mattress bought separately) it’s far more of an investment than a Moses basket, but it lasts until around six months and it’s definitely the type of beautifully made product that you would pass on to other family members once you’d had your use out of it.

The bassinet part can be detached from the base to make a little floor rocker, which is quite sweet if you want to let your baby have a nap in the lounge as you watch tv, for example, or just be with you if you don’t want to be stuck in the bedroom. The whole thing attaches safely to your bed using straps (frame beds or divans, both work) and it’s pretty easy to assemble.

What are your thoughts on sleeping arrangements? The health visitors and midwives all seemed to hammer home that it was now the standard recommendation that a baby should be in its parents’ room for at least the first six months, but how close do you feel you need to be? Do you like having some separation between yourself and the baby? Or are you a committed co-sleeper? I would love to hear your thoughts.

*with regards to the other bedside cots, the Chicco “Next 2 Me” was too wide to fit between the wall and bed of the holiday let I was staying in the first few weeks after the birth but I did love it because it looked very transportable. Though apparently the supplied mattress is VERY firm! I liked the style of the Babybay but it was more expensive than the others and the siderail to close up the open side needed to be purchased separately.

**UPDATE: I’ve just seen the Snuzpod on Amazon here – free delivery and including mattress for £169.95.

***Please note that in the above pic I have my Sleepyhead inside the Snuzpod. It’s a kind of baby moveable bed and it’s absolutely brilliant. I’ll be talking about it in a separate post, but I just wanted to point out that it’s not made to go inside the Snuzpod, in case you were wondering what it was!

*© 2017 The Uphill®: *Outbound links are affiliate links, which means that I receive a very small percentage of any sale made. This does not affect my content in any way and does not cost you anything, but you are most welcome to Google the products on a new page if you prefer. All opinions are my own and any sponsored or paid posts will always be clearly marked as an AD in the title. I accept press samples and receive product and services to review as part of my job. "The Uphill" and "Ruth Crilly" are registered trademarks.

Follow:
Share:

103 Comments

  1. Lyndsey
    August 26, 2015 / 9:19 pm

    Loved this post. Co sleeping is a huge topic. While I was in hospital recovering from c section, there was a giant poster above my bed saying that the hospital cannot support co sleeping and baby must be returned to its cot. I understand this as you are still recovering and, well the beds are small arnt they. Whatever their reason was, this kind of made it official in my head that I wasn’t going to do that. (New mum panic set in maybe??) I had been given a Moses basket and was planning to use that anyway. Our bed is quite low so it ended up being fairly level with the mattress. So does that mean we co slept?? I got told repeatedly that the baby sleep in the same room as me for 6 months. 8 weeks in & she got kicked out! She made so much noise in her sleep that I couldn’t sleep! She was feeding once in the night by then so I didn’t mind walking down the hall to feed her. We purchased a breathing monitor (BabySense11) that you put under the cot mattress. That gave me such peace of mind I can’t tell you. So I would normally say that I don’t agree with co sleeping & its not for me. But did I??? To be honest I thought co sleeping was the baby sleeping in the same bed as you.
    Anyway I’ve learnt that there is more than one right way. If it works for some, that’s great. You should do what makes you feel comfortable and most connected to your baby.
    I really enjoy your posts and appreciate you taking the time to write them so well.

    • August 27, 2015 / 7:00 am

      Thanks Lyndsey. Same with me in the hospital, but I fell asleep with her in the bed with me four times because nobody came to help put her back! I was soooooo tired and off my head on morphine and nobody seemed worried at all! Eeek!

  2. Leslie
    August 26, 2015 / 9:28 pm

    I know I’m in the minority, but I put my baby in a crib in her own room from Day 1. Our bedroom is so small that we couldn’t fit a basinett in any logical fashion. I don’t care if others co-sleep, but for me, I am such a deep sleeper that I was terrified of rolling over her (or waking her up with our tossing and snoring!) I had no problem getting up to breastfeed either, in case anyone reading this has been warned off for that reason.

    • August 27, 2015 / 6:59 am

      Thanks Leslie! A few of my friends also did this – one had a very small room, the others just wanted their own space! x

  3. Bryony
    August 26, 2015 / 9:46 pm

    Lovely post! We had a Snuzpod too and found that baby would have fit in it until about 8 months, if not more, so great value there. We ended up moving her into a cot in her own room at 7/8 months but the whole thing was a hassle as I was still breastfeeding so I ended up in and out of bed many times a night perched in a chair feeding and then trying over and over again to transfer her to her cot. I don’t quite know why I was wasting my time doing that for so long as it made me completely miserable, other than the feeling that that’s what I ‘should’ be doing as everyone made it clear that getting her to sleep all night long in the cot was what I should be doing (no matter how unrealistic that tends to be for breastfed babies). Anyway, we gave up on the cot before I went completely batty and she’s in our bed now, probably until she stops breastfeeding. We’re happy as larry doing it that way and all getting proper sleep again so clearly I feel that it’s a no-brainer. My personal experience echoes yours (and Sears and co’s findings) about that subconscious awareness the mother has of the baby – you check on each other and move around each other in the night and I found I also would wake just before she did for a feed. In the early days I made my husband check on us when we were napping (as I was worried after reading the negative opinions on cosleeping) but he said I barely moved a muscle. I’ve found the research regarding the idea that sleeping near the mother actually helps regulate baby’s breathing etc really interesting too. As long as you’re doing it safely I think it’s a lovely natural way to bond with baby and make sure you’re meeting their needs in the night hassle-free. Do whatever works for your family, and enjoy waking up next to that lovely snoozing face for as long as you want to! We never had a sleepyhead but I was thinking of getting a sleepyhead grande for the next one as I think it would help with the moro wake-ups, nap transfers etc. Looking forward to hearing your views on it!

    • August 27, 2015 / 6:58 am

      Thanks Bryony. It’s interesting how we feel pressured by what we “should” be doing, isn’t it? I’ve felt that right from the start! x

  4. Georgie
    August 26, 2015 / 9:50 pm

    I’m loving my bednest I wouldn’t have considered one when I had my son 4 years ago. My daughter is a much better sleeper than he was though. So I needed my space a bit more then but with Sadie she just snoozes through the night and is a total dream I’ll be gutted when she grows out of it. Dreading putting her in her big cot

    • August 27, 2015 / 6:57 am

      Have you tried the Sleepyhead? Might be worth a try when you’re ready to do the move. Loads of people with 6-month-ish babies have said it worked for them!

      • Georgie
        August 27, 2015 / 7:49 am

        I did have a quick look at reviews on Amazon after reading your blog but the consensus seemed to be that they only work while the baby is little. I have a massive chunk of a 4 month old who is already filling her 3-6 month clothes nicely. I’d hate to spend 100£ and only get a few weeks from it x

        • August 27, 2015 / 5:50 pm

          Yes, I am wondering how long A will fit in! x

          • Lucie
            August 28, 2015 / 5:44 pm

            My baby Henry slept in his Moses basket until he grew out of it at 3ish months. I was nervous about putting him in such a gigantic cot but he went straight in with no problem at all-sometimes they pleasantly surprise you! And ps he was in our room for a year because I preferred feeding him in bed-especially when he was ill or teething. Again, he went straight into his own bedroom at a year with no problems, so don’t worry about it too much xx

          • Charlotte
            August 28, 2015 / 8:25 pm

            Hello,
            Have you seen the sleepyhead grand pod?? Considering for when my daughter moves to her cot!

  5. Anna
    August 26, 2015 / 10:20 pm

    I’m on the same page, love co-sleepers! Used a Moses basket with first baby and absolutely hated it. I really struggle falling asleep once I’m awake and getting out of bed every five minutes to reinsert a soother was pure torture. By the time I discovered the existence of co-sleepers baby was a couple of months old and tall, so the few weeks we would have gotten out of it didn’t justify the expense. Now with baby 2 a second hand babybay was pretty much my first baby-related purchase 🙂 Probably the best 90 euro I’ve spent (including mattress and side rail!), ever. Baby is now almost 11 months old and way too big for it l, but I’m still doing something similar on rocky nights: there is a double bed right next to his cot, so if he can’t settle, out he comes onto the side with the rails and we both sleep soundly when he’s at arms length (except when he comes over to lie straight over my face that is)!

    • Lucie
      August 28, 2015 / 5:46 pm

      Exactly the same as me! Moses basket with first and and baby bay with second. She is 10 days old and I’m already getting more sleep! Hooray!

  6. Maria
    August 26, 2015 / 10:32 pm

    Hi, Ruth! Congrats on adorable baby!
    Funny how child up-bringing standards are different in different countries (I’m from Russia and my partner in Irish, we live in Russia). Here the official recommendation is NOT to have your baby in your bed, though there are a lot of people who still do that. My stepmom had my brother to sleep with in bed with them, as the result he refuses to sleep in his own bed and still climbs in his parents bed now (which often makes his dad to retrieve to the couch in another room). Oh, he is 10 years old now (!!!!!!!!). That put me off co-sleeping. Big time.
    Our wee Zo is 10 months old and she never slept with us. I don’t think I’ll be able to sleep having her near me, I’d be too worried! Plus (it is just my opinion) I think it kinda ruins the intimacy between the parents. Her cot in close to us, I can reach out to her at any time. But she sleeps separately.
    I did cheat a bit having her by my side in the morning, when daddy’s gone for work, for a bit of girls only snooze. Love those! but never when it’s me and my partner in bed.
    P.S. sorry if there are grammar.spelling mistakes in my comment.
    P.P.S Love your blog! it’s very interesting how the standards and things that are considered a “norm” in one country are considered “wrong” or “strange” in another. Keep up the mummy work, you are doing great!
    All the best from Russia!

  7. An
    August 26, 2015 / 11:16 pm

    Hiya
    We’ve managed to fit our sleepyhead inside the snuzpod leaving the mesh side wall down which has worked really well.

  8. Kate
    August 27, 2015 / 3:29 am

    Hey Ruth,
    I’m a doctor and had worked some time in peadiatric A&E and too be honest I’m totally in agreement with HVs and other medical professionals that having the baby in your bed when u r not fully awake for whatever reason is just not safe – things happen and children die. Btw – I always thought that co- sleeping is actually having ur baby sleep in ur bed.
    I have a Bednest – very similar to Ur crib. I have rented it for 6 months and got new mattress and covers. U can either have the bedside shield down or up and after that u don’t need to worry what r U going to do with it as they pick it up. I think I paid 99£. I love it for all the same reasons as U love the Snuzzpod. Love watching my boy sleeping while snuggled up myself.
    Take care 🙂

    • Helen
      August 28, 2015 / 8:10 pm

      I loved th bed eat too, and used it with the sides down. But since the unfortunate death, where it wasn’t used properly, they now say you must not use it with the side down when not under direct supervision

      • Helen
        August 28, 2015 / 8:11 pm

        Stupid iPad. That was I love the bed nest too, not bed eat!

  9. New mum to be
    August 27, 2015 / 5:13 am

    Hi Ruth
    Looks interesting, i remember the not leader going in and on about how one shouldn’t co sleep, but this is what they do in Finland and Sweden where the infant mortality rate is the lowest in the world!
    Have a question, what about your cat? How has the cat//baby relationship been developing? I have 2 little fur balls that sleep with us (husband, 2 cats… Then add a baby, will be interesting to see how this one goes! …..

    • August 27, 2015 / 6:53 am

      Yes, good point. I have found some good resources re co-sleeping, will post them soon. Cat is fine! He is at my Mum’s but stayed there for one month with baby and no probs at all. x

      • mariaelina
        August 30, 2015 / 6:05 pm

        Had to comment here, as I am Finnish and also live in Finland. The recommendations vary a lot here – many experts advice against cosleeping, some are all for it.

        In the hospital I gave birth in they gave me a separate cot on wheels right after birth, and my daughter slept there (lifting her in and out was a pain after 65 hours of labour, not to mention wheeling her along with me to go to the bathroom and to get my meals etc, but I digress…)

        At home our baby never slept with us in our bed, not even for one nap (except for when hubby had to take a business trip when our daughter was one week old and I was alone with her for almost a week). My husband was firmly against cosleeping (fear of rolling over baby and desire to maintain marital intimacy). So for the first few weeks our sweet daughter slept in our room in her bassinet, after that we moved her to her crib in the adjoining room (husband was a gem and often fetched our girl for me to breastfeed at night and also took her back to her bed). Now she is 11 months old and I am due with our son in three months and we plan to do the same with him, if possible.

        I do sometimes wish I would have let our daughter sleep with us, but I am also glad we taught her to sleep on her own at a very early date rather than later.

        But to each their own, I guess 🙂

        • August 30, 2015 / 6:21 pm

          Thank you, I think that is the worry for me with co-sleeping – getting them into their own room! x

  10. Mary
    August 27, 2015 / 5:45 am

    Awww so cute! You both have little stars on your clothes!
    This arrangement seems to be the best, mother and baby are close enough but both enjoy their own space too and no one has to worry about rolling on the baby etc.
    Take care xx

  11. Ali
    August 27, 2015 / 7:36 am

    We are very similar in our situation, I have a chicco next to me for my 5 week old baby girl and I truly believe it is the best thing ever as I feel like we get all the benefit of co sleeping without actually having her in our bed. I believe she feels very secure and this is why she is starting to sleep longer stretches- hallelujah! We are attending a wedding in a few weeks and are debating taking it with us she sleeps so well in there but probably too much hassle! Hope you and baby are well, enjoying following your journey on here as I am going through many of the same experiences as you (especially murderous thoughts about my husband at 2am!) x

  12. August 27, 2015 / 7:41 am

    Hi Ruth! Firstly, bloody well done for all these posts. I certainly would not have had the capibility of writing anything close to coherent for the first year after having a baby. I used the Troll beside cot (John Lewis) and found it great. Felix stayed in it till about 7 months. Am planning to use it again with baby no.2 (nice name?) in November. It’s great having them close but both of you having your own space. We did sometimes all sleep in the same bed. I think you just stop worrying after a few months and start to trust your instincts. Everyone is different! We lived on a boat so space was a bit of an issue, so Felix stayed in with us (in a bigger cot, at end of bed) till about 18 months. Would love to hear your review about the sleepyhead and the other head supports you have. We had a head issue, so looking to avoid this time round.

    • August 27, 2015 / 5:51 pm

      Thanks Lucy! I forgot about the Troll – looked but they had sold out at the time. Good to know it’s a nice one! xx

  13. Bea
    August 27, 2015 / 7:50 am

    We co-slept exclusively for 8-9 months, and at 14 months she still sleeps in with us for some of the night when she is unsettled (bastard teeth), although now she just is in our bed rather than a co-sleeping cot. I LOVE cosleeping and so does my husband. We are both too lazy to get up in the middle of the night and go to another room, and we both love the snuggles 😀

  14. Katie
    August 27, 2015 / 8:00 am

    Lovely post! Another vote for the Snuzpod here. Another great feature I found was that it rocks just gently enough to give a bit of a jiggle but not so much that you’re rocking baby to sleep! As then apparently they become dependent on being rocked! My son grew out of it though at 4 months so then he went into his own room and it’s packed away in the loft now!

    • August 27, 2015 / 5:50 pm

      Yes, kind of a jerky little rock, isn’t it?! Handy though. x

  15. August 27, 2015 / 8:13 am

    I loved the idea of Co sleeping…. however I was also confused by the whole ‘really tired’ rule…. ha! I’m a new mum, I’m always really tired!

    We decided as a couple not to take the risks with our son, for lots of reasons. For one, he was 5 weeks premature… always more at risk wit SIDS. We both sleep really deeply and have 2 cats… that just didn’t sound safe to us. Plus my fiance works for the Ambulance service and they get a good couple of calls a month with mothers who have sadly caused injury (or worse) to their children through co sleeping 🙁 After hearing about such sad and horrible accidents, it was another factor that made us grab a moses basket.

    Our son is nearly 16 weeks and is in his own cot. He’s still in with us but then we currently live in a 1 bed flat so no option to move him but we probably would if we could at the recommended 6 month mark. We like to keep our bed for us, and his cot for him… although I do sneak him in for the odd cuddle of a morning sometimes!

    If he wasn’t so big I may have gone for the co sleeping cots as they seem to be a great compromise, but I thought they looked narrower than the moses basket, and he was out of that withing 5 weeks or so. Plus, as you say, they are a bit pricier than the moses basket.

    Anyways, sorry for the ramble! Every mother has to do what they feel comfortable with and your method looks very cozy and works well for the two of you 🙂 how lovely to wake up holding hands?! xxxx

    • August 27, 2015 / 5:49 pm

      Ah that’s interesting re the ambulance calls. May have to revisit the stats I was looking at, as they seemed very low..x

    • Laura
      February 24, 2017 / 9:02 am

      Are you talking about having accidents in the same bed or with the co sleeping cot?

  16. Sarah
    August 27, 2015 / 8:51 am

    What a beautiful baby – angelic just like her name!
    My 5 month old daughter is still in our room in a travel cot. However we’re making the move when we’re back from holiday in a couple of weeks as my husband is waking her up at ungodly hours for loo breaks and to remove the cat from the bedroom after said toilet visits!
    P.s he also sleeps with headphones in!!!

    • August 27, 2015 / 5:47 pm

      Haha! Managing the menagerie in the middle of the night… Same here. x

  17. Nicola
    August 27, 2015 / 9:18 am

    I spent a week in hospital with Julianna in her ‘plastic box’ beside my bed for the last few days. The sleep deprivation from her early days in neonatal (she was a month early) made me a bit paranoid and I couldn’t sleep, no matter what the midwives said about the importance of resting… Uhh…

    We had an Arms Reach Universal co-sleeper at home. It’s huge and sturdy, so my five pound daughter looked like a little elfin baby in it, but we both passed out for seven hours that night. Eight weeks on she’s twelve pounds (go booby juice!!) and can take up so much room in the cot!

    You’re right, it is amazing how you can be so attuned to them in your sleep. My husband always has a little look over at her when his alarm goes off, probably wondering if she’s ok as she’s so still. I’ll crack open an eye and go “She’s fine” and resume snoozing. I couldn’t imagine her in a separate room, let alone leaving her to cry. I’ve heard a lot of negative opinions regarding our sleeping arrangement. I don’t care if I’ll spoil her, make a rod for my own back, blah, blah, blah..

    Yes, she’s up until 12am feeding and fussing, but then she’ll sleep until 6am! Plus she is a very content baby. I’m pretty sure it’s because she knows I’m always close. It works for us, that’s the main thing.

    • August 27, 2015 / 5:47 pm

      Oh my God, what an amazing weight gain! Mine was 9lbs11 and still hasn’t got to 12lbs at 10 weeks! Maybe just…I haven’t weighed her in a while actually… Go booby juice indeed! : )

  18. Emma
    August 27, 2015 / 9:52 am

    So interested to read this post! I am due in November and we have bought a Chicco which we got second hand from ebay as we are on a tight budget. I think it will be lovely to have the baby sleeping next to me and will hopefully make feeding etc in the night easier. The snuzpod looks lovely and possibly easier to take the side up and down on than the Chicco (which is a bit tricky, but maybe I haven’t got the hang of it yet).

    I was wondering – for naps in the day do you put the side back up so baby doesn’t roll out while you aren’t there? Though I suspect the sleepyhead would stop that? I haven’t seen one of those before – must look into it!

    • August 27, 2015 / 5:46 pm

      The sleepyhead stops it, so I leave the side down, but now she is more wriggly I might move her onto the mattress sans Sleepyhead and then I’ll have to pop the side up! x

      • Emma
        September 1, 2015 / 11:22 am

        That’s what I thought – thanks!

  19. Gillian
    August 27, 2015 / 1:21 pm

    My own personal opinion on this one is that I knew right from the get go with baby no 1, 24 yrs ago now, that I would have her in her crib next to me for the first 6-12 months, which turned out to be 12 (I put her in a bigger cot of course, but she was still next to me). I was breastfeeding & I wanted her close so I could keep a check on her.
    I also knew that if I had one parenting rule that wouldn’t be broken, it was that she would be sleeping in her own bed at all times. I need my space when asleep & I knew that I’d not sleep well if I was semi-aware of her in my bed, it’s just a mothers instinct you feel every movement and hear every sound.
    I did the same with my son and my youngest daughter, they had their own beds and slept in them. The only time I ever broke this rule was if they were ill, temperature or sickness, and then I’d make them up a bed across the foot of my bed, so that I could keep a close eye on them and be right there if they threw up. When I was pregnant with my son I developed RA, so the need for my own comfy sleeping space was all the more important and this always worked well for us as a family. When they were toddlers, they knew that they slept in their own beds, it was never an issue because they were used to it and they were always good sleepers.
    I think it is entirely down to each family how they decide to sleep, it’s personal choice as long as baby is safe, but for me that seperation was a good choice for us both. It set boundaries and gave us all a good nights sleep. Your little Angelica looks so content Ruth and I love the matching star jim jams!!

    • August 27, 2015 / 5:45 pm

      Haha, thank you – completely unintentional! xx

  20. Helen
    August 27, 2015 / 1:50 pm

    I will definitely be co-sleeping with my bub when she arrives. I wouldn’t be able to relax if she was in another room. Love the look of the Snuzpod. Thank you Ruth for the posts on what you are finding useful and what items have been “good buys”. It is invaluable advice for me. Angelica is beautiful. xx

  21. Ruth
    August 27, 2015 / 2:50 pm

    Hi Ruth, congratulations on your gorgeous girl. My own gorgeous girl is one month old today! Since becoming pregnant I knew I wanted a co-sleeper cot. I didn’t want the baby in the bed with us and am still really careful about bringing her into our bed in the mornings at weekends but having her right next to me in the chicco works perfectly. I can just scooch her over to feed during the night or if she can’t settle. It also makes transfers easier if she falls asleep while I’m winding her as I just pop her in and can clump down to sleep, no fuss. I also wake up with my hand on hers or even just close enough to feel her tiny chest rising and falling. Very reassuring.

    • August 27, 2015 / 5:44 pm

      Do you find it easy to pack up and travel with? x

      • Ruth
        August 27, 2015 / 11:08 pm

        We put it up and took it down a few times when we first got it and it was very easy and very compact. Also fits our poddle pod in which is a cheaper version of a sleepy head x

        • August 28, 2015 / 8:06 am

          Ooh, must look into the poddlepod too! x

  22. Claire L
    August 27, 2015 / 4:15 pm

    I really wanted to have a Snuzpod or Babybay but we were very short of money so we were very grateful for being given a Moses basket. Luckily my baby loved it, having been born 14 weeks premature and being kept in hospital for 4.5 months meant that she loved the enclosed space. We had her next to our bed for about 6 months and then she went into her own room in a cot and she sleeps well. I didn’t want to co sleep as in having her in our bed as my other half is heavy and I already have issues with him invading my half of the bed, never mind having to worry about him rolling onto the baby! I loved taking her out of the basket in the morning and just having a little cuddle, she’s too wriggly now for that, being 16 months corrected! Love the sweet pic of you and A sleeping x

    • August 27, 2015 / 5:44 pm

      Ah, thanks Claire! Yes, they are much more of a financial sting than a Moses! : (

  23. Louise Theakstone
    August 27, 2015 / 5:05 pm

    I also went for the snuzpod and absolutely love it. I love the fact that I am so close to my little girl and like you I often find myself looking at her just to check she is okay during the night.

    I also had a c section and found this a god send once we were home, any kind of movement was agony so the snuzpod was great during the night as I wasn’t having to get up out of bed to get her, I keep a stash of nappies within grabbing distance, shove a muslin cloth under her and change her in there too, no need to get out of bed at all 🙂

    • August 27, 2015 / 5:43 pm

      Oooh, hadn’t mastered the changing from bed part, I shall have to try that!

  24. August 27, 2015 / 5:17 pm

    Another topic that is on the long list of arrangements for babies! I think the picture is so so cute! Angelica looks very comfy in her cot and it’s great that you can adjust it to be at the perfect height for your bed- it means you can stay in bed as long as possible because you don’t need to get in and out of your own bed to check on baby-brilliant! Loving the blog and sending lots of love to you xxx

  25. Stéphanie
    August 27, 2015 / 7:01 pm

    A good tip for the firmer matrasses is Delta Baby back positioner.
    Super soft and i was very much relaxed when my daughter slept on this.
    Its sold on amazon for a reasonable price
    I am now 31 week with baby no2 and purchased this with the chicco next2me.
    I could not move at all (so much pain) after the birth and had I know about cosleeping it would have made my life so much easier and more comfortable.
    I love reading your posts and look forward to the next. (And already purchased some jojo maman baby grows ☺)
    And baby Angelica looks absolutely adorable

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B001DUG9PQ/ref=mp_s_a_1_8?qid=1440701550&sr=8-8&pi=AC_SX110_SY165&keywords=delta+baby&dpPl=1&dpID=31gUDMb44RL&ref=plSrch

    • August 27, 2015 / 9:28 pm

      Thank you, going to check this out now! x

  26. Louise
    August 27, 2015 / 7:32 pm

    I gave birth to my son same day as you Ruth and also have a snuzpod, purchased for exact same reasons as you! I find I’m able to start him off in the snuzpod but he wKes two or three times in night and I must admit I don’t always have the patience to resettle him in the snuzpod sometimes in middle of night so I just lie him in bed beside me… I know we’re not meant to do it but he settles and sleeps so much better being warm against me. We often both fall asleep lying on sides breastfeeding. I think I sleep in a totally different way now than before i had my son…I’m contorted into a position that should eliminate risk of me rolling onto him, all pillows and duvets are well away from his face and to be honest I sleep much more lightly now and wake with the slightest noise or movement I don’t think I could possibly roll onto him. This is the absolute polar opposite of what I thought I’d do before I had my son (I imagined him easily falling asleep on his own in the snuzpod, without me even having yo rock or comfort him…ha!!) but needs must and if it means we both fet more sleep and I don’t go mental then I’m going to keep doing it. And for what it’s worth everyone I know with babies do bring the baby into their own beds at least sometimes, despite feeling worried and guilty about it! Think it’s much more common than we realise.

    • August 27, 2015 / 9:28 pm

      Yes, I think it is absolutely much more common but we are made to feel rather petrified and guilty about it! But I suppose it is an attempt to educate everyone, including people who might make bad choices or simply have no common sense? x

      • Louise
        August 29, 2015 / 7:14 am

        Agree. The cases of injury and death through co-sleeping are tragic but must be a tiny percentage if we account properly for everyone who does it. I’d never take silly unnecessary risks with my baby but i think it’s ultimately safer and healthier for him to sleep beside me for a few hours (with all the precautions a worrier like me will take!) than the alternatives of eitherhaving a seriously sleep deprived and grumpy mother, or be crying it out in another room.

        • August 29, 2015 / 7:12 pm

          It’s really hard to write about SIDS because any death is so, so tragic, but when I have been investigating stats it does seem that things are somewhat overblown. I need to do more research, but I found some very interesting articles.

  27. Kay
    August 27, 2015 / 9:34 pm

    Yet another vote for the snuzpod. Loved ours and I’ve just lent it to a friend for her new bubba – it looks barely used. We put the cocoonababy in it and it fits perfectly.

    Sadly at 6 months she’d learnt to roll and sit up and I was worried she’d climb out so we moved her to her cot in her own room. I was so sad the day she moved as I absolutely loved having her next to me – we held hands most nights – cheesy but true.

    Anyway, we also did a fair amount of co-sleeping proper – mostly when she fell asleep on the boob as I fed her lying down. I never worried about it as I pushed the covers right down on the bed and made sure there were no pillows etc nearby. And when she moved to her own room, if she woke I just brought her into bed and fed her there and we slept on the same pillow afterwards. I felt like I was so in tune to her that rolling onto her etc wasn’t really possible – although I slept more lightly with her there.

    Unfortunately now at nearly 9 months she can crawl and her favourite thing is trying to throw herself off high surfaces(!) so she can’t be in bed anymore unless I’m fully awake!

    I think do what you’re comfortable with – some babies are more fragile and some mums heavier sleepers than others. You know yourself and your baby and you’ll naturally do the right thing for both of you.

    • August 27, 2015 / 9:38 pm

      Oh my God – I suppose I should enjoy the months where you just “put em down” and they stay where they are! : )

  28. Kate
    August 27, 2015 / 9:44 pm

    We have the chicco one which just makes night feeding so easy! We also have the sleepyhead (so no problems with hard mattress!) and it is the number 1 thing I would advise any new parent to buy. We took it on holiday and used it as a travel cot.

  29. August 27, 2015 / 10:09 pm

    We had a Moses basket as we didn’t have room for a crib next to the bed. It worked ok for us, I had a c-section as well. If I could’ve fit one of these I probably would’ve tried them as they seem great for having baby close without them being in bed with you (not something I’d consider as too scared of squishing her!). She went in her room at 8/9 weeks as she rolled over on the floor (yay) so I was worried she’d roll in her sleep and the basket would roll over or something daft like that (amazing what you worry about). She has loved it in her cot in her room and seemed to sleep a lot better, maybe my husbands snoring disturbed her in our room ha! She is now 11 months and does not stay in the same place where you put her down to sleep, she moves her way around the cot by rolling around in her sleep as predicted!! Lovely pic of you both as well Ruth! X

  30. Alison
    August 28, 2015 / 4:08 am

    Hi Ruth, when I had my first baby the advice was mixed about sleeping with your baby, some against, some very positive, but from the word go even in hospital, I had her in bed with me. I remember the midwife tutting knowingly at me, saying I would regret it later. Like you, had C section plus very light sleeper and I found nights very exhausting with colic etc so sleeping in bed with me was the only way. Had real difficulty later though trying to make the transition to sleeping in her own bed, she was not impressed – she’s nearly 20 and still comes into my bed if she’s upset/had a bad dream! With my next baby, I knew I had to try a different approach and so had cot next to my bed with one side removed – it wasn’t quite as close as having baby right next to you but still had all the benefits. When my son was 6 months, he went into his own room fairly smoothly. I think you have to do what feels right for you and your baby, taking into account the current advice (which seems to change regularly!). So lovely that you are sharing your experiences, hope the expressing is going well xx

    • August 28, 2015 / 8:05 am

      Thanks Alison, that’s very interesting! Hopefully the bedside cot will be a perfect midway solution as yours was! x

  31. Barbara
    August 28, 2015 / 5:38 am

    Hi Ruth,
    You know what, co-sleep with your child as long as you can. Life goes by fast. One day you’ll wake-up and she’ll be off to college. As long as you’re all happy i say do it:) who cares what others think, trust me you’re not done finding opinionated people on many subjects specially when it comes to parenting… I love your matching star PJ by the way. Enjoy:)

  32. Rachel
    August 28, 2015 / 12:01 pm

    Hi Ruth,
    My little boy slept in a Moses basket in my room up until 12 weeks, when he started sleeping through (hoorah!). I breastfed him, and while I needed some help initially getting him in and out of the basket following my c-section, it worked very well for us.
    With regards to never falling asleep with your baby… I would often breastfeed lying down, at night, in the dark, in a warm cosy bed. It was inevitable! But it was only ever for a couple of minutes at a time and we always woke up in the exact same position.
    I would often wake up in the night (not whilst feeding) in a huge panic thinking that I had forgotten to put him back into the basket. I always had! But was nice to just check on him and get piece of mind. This continued long after he went into his own room, but fortunately has stopped now (he’s nearly 2!!).
    I love this blog and find it incredible that you’re able to write so well while caring for a tiny human! x

  33. Talli
    August 28, 2015 / 8:54 pm

    i loved this. I read it to my hubbie and he had a great giggle too.
    We have the sleepyhead and love it, our little boy is 9 months now and although he doesn’t sleep in it, I do use it to change a very wriggly baby’s nappy. I just put a disposable change mat over the top to keep it clean.
    I’d love to of had a co-sleeper for my little man.
    I wholeheartedly agree with co-sleeping if you know yourself well enough to keep your child safe.

  34. August 29, 2015 / 11:48 am

    I got a BabyBay with attached wheels, so i could use it as a bedside crib at night and move it around during daytime. The times Little Bean needed to stay very close I had her sleeping in our bed but just as you assumed those weren’t the most restful nights because I was subconsciously afraid to move, staying in one position the whole night and waking up totally sore.

    • August 29, 2015 / 7:10 pm

      Didn’t realise you could get it with wheels!

  35. Liz
    August 30, 2015 / 8:40 am

    I love that idea! I totally wish these things had been around when I had my kids. On the topic of hubbies headphones – has he tried Sleep headphones? They are awesome, I use them to listen to sleep music to stop me murdering my husband due to his snoring. They are soft earphones inside a headband type thing with the wire coming out at the back – far less chance of strangling oneself . X

    • August 30, 2015 / 9:39 am

      Thank you, I will get him some now!

  36. Joanne
    August 30, 2015 / 8:06 pm

    I co-slept with my 18 month old for the first couple of months. For the first 2 or 3 weeks he refused to sleep anywhere other than on my chest! It was hard, I was knackered and I got told by so many people that i was making a rod for my own back, I was spoiling him and my in laws even told me i just needed to let him scream himself to sleep at a week old! They said i needed to break him to train him! I ignored them all and continued to sleep next to my wee one and don’t regret it at all. He went into his own room at about 4 months as I couldn’t sleep with him snoring on one side of me and his dad on the other! I am 6 months pregnant with his sibling now and if this one needs to co sleep to settle properly then that is what will happen! They are only small for such a small amount of time so treasure the cuddles now, my wee boy can’t wait to get in his bed these days and isn’t a fan of giving his mummy a kiss and cuddle before bed.

    • August 30, 2015 / 8:25 pm

      Yes, the thought of “breaking” Baby A to “train” her just makes me so sad! I mean, later on, yes, but now she’s just so tiny – she can do what she wants, I am merely her servant! Ha.

  37. Linsey
    August 31, 2015 / 12:29 pm

    I am looking forward to your post n the sleepyhead. I am pregnant with baby number 3 and never heard of these for my last two x

    • September 1, 2015 / 9:34 am

      It’s so good!! Look it up! Post soon x

  38. Trusha
    August 31, 2015 / 8:02 pm

    Hi just stumbled across your site and started reading your posts! Im a first time mother of a 5wk old girl. We got the Chicco Next2me cot as I wanted my baby to me close to me whilst I breast fed her and a moses basket would have been too fiddly esplly if having to move my baby after feedg in the night.
    To be honest tho after feeding, my baby ends up sleeping on my chest as we both fall asleep. I know everyone recommends that you shouldnt but if youve been up all night or if thats the only way your baby is going to stay asleep then so be it! My fear was id move and roll over on my baby but I haven’t and have woken up after an hour or so. Then trying to move her into the cot has been an issue as she is so comfortable on my belly or chest!
    I just think in the first 3months you do what the baby wants and needs despite everyone elses input or old wives tales!

    • September 1, 2015 / 9:34 am

      Yeah I did that in the hospital and it was lovely! I slept but knew she was there and don’t think I would have rolled on her or her off me! x

  39. September 3, 2015 / 4:58 pm

    Despite buying the cot and borrowing a moses basket and all that malarkey I ended up co-sleeping with my first *because* I was so tired (and also lazy, v v lazy). She stayed in with me til she was nearly 2 (mostly because I coudn’t be bothered changing the arrangement) when I had my second and he just co-slept from birth, til around 18 months (I think … vague memories) when I chucked him in with this adoring sister.

    They climb in for cuddles in the morning now occasionally but cosleeping was probably one the best decisions I made. Mostly because of the lazy thing.

  40. Lexibelle
    September 3, 2015 / 7:56 pm

    It is indeed a hot topic! Sleeping arrangements have varied for us for the first few months. Before we had our little girl, I was totally against co-sleeping but a lactatation consultant who was helping me with feeding was really pro-bedsharing which completely changed my view. For the first few nights, my partner and I slept in different beds and then passed her between us. I remember I inadvertently fell asleep when feeding her one night but because we set up for safe bed-sharing, I was quite relaxed about it and we had the best sleep we’d had in days. So many advantages for bed-sharing but to be honest we preferred to have her in her own sleeping space and that quickly became in her own room. We all ended up getting better sleep having a bit more distance. However, there have been plenty of times in the last year when she has come into our bed during the night due to wake-ups for hunger, teething, developmental milestones, wonder weeks., I find that I am super aware of her being there even when I am asleep. I love the idea of a side-cot. I think we will definitely get one for number two.

    My advice to anyone is listen to advice, be aware of the risks but do what works for you.

  41. Katusha
    September 8, 2015 / 2:45 pm

    Hi Ruth
    We live in Austria and here starting from the first day at the hospital all the nurses kept telling me – take the baby into your bed , sleeping next to the mother is the best thing for the baby
    By that point we already had our brand new Chico co sleeper waiting for us at home so I kinda knew all about the cosleeping concept … Or so I thought )) after the first two months I just moved our little bundle into our bed . What can I say , I needed sleep and our little big boy wanted to feed every hour . Fast forward to today : he is almost 1 year old and still sleeps with us . And weirdly enough I love it and so does my husband )) we had to get rid of big puffy duvets and pillows and the husband’s side is cut off from the baby by a nursing pillow, but snuggling with our little one is the best thing . It was a few months after we started doing it that I read an article saying that cosleeping reduces SID as babies apparently follow their mother’s breathing and feel more secure right next to their mum. It made sense to me and for now that’s exactly where our boy will be staying – in our bed

  42. Anat
    September 20, 2015 / 12:25 pm

    Hi Ruth
    Have recently found your blog and I absolutely love it!
    Does the Sleepyhead fit well in the Snuzpod? (I’ve read great recommendations for both but haven’t found any reviews about using them together…)

    • September 21, 2015 / 5:19 pm

      It JUST about fits, but if you want to do the side up then it makes the side bulge slightly. Which doesn’t bother me, but some might not like the idea that they are ruining their perfect crib! xx

  43. DeeMama
    February 23, 2016 / 1:08 am

    Really love your review of the snuzpod. Did you place the sleepyhead on the snuzpod mattress or not?

  44. June Martin
    July 31, 2016 / 2:26 pm

    We love our Snuzpod. I was really torn with the whole to co-sleep to not co-sleep decision, my biggest concern was safety. The Snuzpod is perfect, I would recommend it to any new Mum who is interested in co-sleeping. http://goo.gl/CWRFZv

  45. Laura
    August 16, 2017 / 11:16 am

    This might sound like a silly question but do you keep the side open throughout the night? Or is it only supposed to be opened when you bring baby across to feed/soothe during the night?

  46. hekky
    August 20, 2017 / 8:23 am

    Pro’s
    I thought it looked smart, modern, and sweet.
    Con’s
    Our child has not been able to successfully sleep in this product for a single night since she was born 8 days ago. She sleeps everywhere but in this pod, clearly pointing to the fact that this pod is just useless and doesn’t do what it is described to do.
    The mattress is too hard, the guidelines on how hard a mattress should be are just that, GUIDELINES, not rules not proven to be the best solution. There needs to be options for soft mattress that comes in with the price.
    The cost of this product is diabolically expensive for what it is.
    The “rocking” motion is near on useless as it requires too much effort to move, it’s impossible to achieve a smooth motion rocking that sooths the baby, instead its more sharp and fast.
    When the side wall is down so you can reach in to the cot from your own bed, it is strongly adviced that you “attach” the pod to your own bed using the supplied velco strips, The problem here is that it totally removes the ability to use the limited rocking motion all together.
    The size of the pod is way too big for new borns, leaving them feeling unsafe and uncomfortable. For this money I would expect an inner cushion like SleepyHead design to be supplied!
    The zip on the mattress cover was somehow put grip/handle on the inside, so when baby nappy became lose because she shouldn’t keep still on this uncomfortable bed, she leaked onto the mattress. After finally managing to wiggle the zip loose, it then just broke of the end so i had to spend frustrating amount of time fixing a very poor quality product.

    If you want your baby to be comfortable, secure, safe and you want baby and yourself to get some sleep. do not buy this product, it’s terrible and should only be sold at £50 or less.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *