Review: Sleepyhead Deluxe Portable Baby Bed

a model recommends

This review is well overdue, because the Sleepyhead is, I think, my most-used piece of baby equipment so far. I have used it multiple times a day, almost every day since we came home from the hospital. And never has something been recommended to me so many times, by so many different people. And so here we are, better late than never – the wondrousness that is the Sleepyhead.

The Sleepyhead Deluxe is a fabric-covered “pod” marketed as a “deluxe portable baby bed”. It has a flattish bottom section with a firm bumper around the edge that cocoons the baby. The whole thing is completely breathable, the filling has anti-fungal and anti-bacterial properties and the cover is 100% cotton and machine-washable.

sleepyhead deluxe bed review

Those are the practicals, but what does the Sleepyhead actually do? Well. If you listen to the thousands of rave reviewing parents online then it’s the one-stop-sleep-shop for newborn babies, who seem to feel more snug inside the Sleepyhead rather than being all little and lost in the expanse of their crib or basket. It’s a convenient sleep solution because it’s totally portable, and you can put the baby down in it safely whether it’s on the living room floor as you catch up on some work or next to you on the (firm) bed as you catch up on some sleep! So many people have said that their babies will sleep when they’re in their arms, but they are tetchy and restless in the crib – the Sleepyhead seems to have solved that problem for quite a few people I know, and the online reviews (check out the ones on Amazon and John Lewis) say much the same thing.

I have to admit that before I had Angelica I honestly couldn’t see what all the fuss was about when it came to the Sleepyhead – I had my Snuzpod bedside crib and couldn’t imagine that I would need anything else. But after a few sleepless nights (two in the hospital and one back home) I decided that I’d put the Sleepyhead into the bedside crib, just to make everything a bit more snug. Now it could have been that the baby would have started to be more settled anyway, but the difference in sleep was almost instant. Four or five hour stretches and no problems with placing her down – it felt much more natural popping her into a little pod-like thing than straight into the cot and I loved that the bumper around her made a comfy rest for my arm so that I could hold her hand and stroke her if she stirred.

I’ve taken the Sleepyhead with me to hotels and used it inside the large cots that they give you – kind of a “bed away from home” – and I also used it for a month at my Mum’s, again putting it inside a large cot, so that I didn’t have to try and transport my Snuzpod in the already jam-packed car. I’ve used the Sleepyhead as a playtime area in the daytime, I’ve used it as a makeshift changing station when I’ve been “on the go” and I’ve plonked it beside me in the bed (pillows and duvet well away) when I’ve been exhausted and have just needed to be able to nap safely with Angelica nearby. (Below you can see the Sleepyhead placed inside the Snuzpod bedside crib with its side down.)

co-sleeping bedside crib

I do get very frustrated with many of the baby things on the market that we are enticed into buying, especially when they appear to be supplementary to the traditional equipment (in this case a simple cot/crib and mattress!); but I can’t ignore the fact that I have used the Sleepyhead non-stop since June. There have been a few days that we have gone without, and Angelica has been absolutely fine – random nights sleeping in the Uppababy Vista (which has been approved for overnight sleeping) and others in larger cots – but we always seem to return to the Sleepyhead and its cocooning charms. Even if she didn’t sleep in it all the time, and we had just used it for travel and for daytime play and naps, it would still have been our most-used baby thing so far.

So, the pros (and I’m gathering comments from other people I know who have used it, too, here):

  • Seems to help tiny babies settle more readily, perhaps because they feel more secure. I’ve been told that in hospitals they sometimes used rolled-up towels inside the cots of premature babies to reduce the size of the space and make it more snug, and I suppose that this is the same kind of idea.
  • Is brilliantly portable, so amazing if you travel about a lot. Or even at weekends. No need to worry about the facilities wherever you’re going, because you can literally plonk the Sleepyhead anywhere. (That’s safe, and flat, obviously. Don’t go doing any Extreme Sleepyhead positioning!)
  • It works well inside the bedside cribs if you like to keep the side down when you’re both asleep – it feels a bit like you have a bit of an anti-roll safety barrier. (FYI, the Sleepyhead just about fits the Snuzpod. I can imagine it would therefore very easily fit inside the larger Chicco bedside crib, which is also popular.)

And cons? I’ve had to think very, very hard about the cons, because I am a total Sleepyhead convert.  To me, they’re not truly cons, but it will depend on your point of view…

  • Firstly, you could say that it’s quite pricey for what it actually breaks down into, which is a long piece of wadding, a flat piece of wadding and a cotton cover. The spare covers are also pricey and you really need at least one spare. But you’re paying for the idea and the convenience, I suppose, of having it all there to be used straight away. I’ve seen comments from people (who haven’t bought one) saying they could easily “knock up” a version of the Sleepyhead. To that, I say: who the hell has the time? I don’t even own a sewing machine! Yes, if you look at it as a series of basic components, it’s expensive. But if you see it as a largish piece of equipment that you’ll use multiple times a day, then really it’s not at all. You could faff around with rolled up towels and the like, but the beauty of the Sleepyhead is that it’s all-in-one, you just lift it up and go. And, as many have said online, what price can you put on sleep? If you’ve tried everything and are at the end of your (knackered) tether then pretty much anything that works is money well spent.
  • Secondly – and this is my only other con, apart from the fiddliness of changing the cover – I’m not convinced that the Sleepyhead would last the full eight months. (It’s marketed as being suitable from 0-8 months.) Angelica is four months this week and I’m just about starting to question whether she needs to be given a bit more freedom of movement! She’s as long as the inside part, and although I can undo the clasp at the bottom of the pod to give more room, I keep feeling as though it might be time to just pop her onto the cot mattress! But we’ve had four solid months of the Sleepyhead and I’m pretty happy with that! The lovely people at Sleepyhead sent me some photos of much bigger babies than Angelica enjoying the smaller Sleepyhead (there’s a larger “Grand” version, which I will absolutely be getting, but it doesn’t fit inside the Snuzpod so I’m holding off for the moment!) but I keep feeling paranoid about her shoulders being squished. I must remember to email and ask about that. Here’s a pic of a three-week-old Angelica in the Sleepyhead inside a big cot at my parents’ – she was 10lbs 6oz and about 59/60cm, if I remember rightly, so that gives you an idea of sizing, but the best thing to do is check the official measurements and then measure your baby!

ruth crilly sleepyhead review

Has anyone else used the Sleepyhead? What did you think? At what baby age did you stop using it? And who has gone on to use the larger one? Comments below, please!

You can find the Sleepyhead on Amazon here – free next-day delivery if you have Prime. The Sleepyhead website is here – I’ve linked to the info page with some tips on safe use and so on.

*UPDATE: we tried a night sans Sleepyhead after I drafted this post. After an hour I came into the bedroom and the baby had rolled backwards into a ball in the corner of the cot and was crying! I was so paranoid about her new rolling/curling-up abilities that I thought I’d never get to sleep for worrying so back into the Sleepyhead she went! I’ll email my questions about sizing and shoulder-squishing to the brand tomorrow and get back to you with some answers.

*© 2017 The Uphill®: *Outbound links are affiliate links, which means that I receive a very small percentage of any sale made. This does not affect my content in any way and does not cost you anything, but you are most welcome to Google the products on a new page if you prefer. All opinions are my own and any sponsored or paid posts will always be clearly marked as an AD in the title. I accept press samples and receive product and services to review as part of my job. "The Uphill" and "Ruth Crilly" are registered trademarks.

Follow:
Share:

84 Comments

  1. An
    October 18, 2015 / 10:57 pm

    My little one loved the sleepyhead. Even though he was born only a tad over 5lb he still looked too big for it at 5 months, at which point we bought the grand version and transferred him from snuzpod to cot bed. The only negative experienced is getting the wadding back in the case when washed; have got around this by covering it with a cot bed fitted sheet (I checked with the sleepyhead makers first and they said it was fine to do so).

    • October 19, 2015 / 10:32 am

      Oh really? That’s a marvellous idea, I’m always bloody washing those covers! Right – thank you very much! x

  2. Onya1213
    October 18, 2015 / 11:51 pm

    I wish they made this in Adult sizes.

  3. Tarynkay
    October 19, 2015 / 12:42 am

    Just a question- do you swaddle her as well? Or is the sleepyhead in place of that?

    • October 19, 2015 / 10:31 am

      I didn’t ever swaddle. My sister did because my Mum did with us, but in the hospital they said not to so I just never did! I think you could swaddle as well, but mine likes to have her legs in a kind of froggy position resting on the sides, and she even does this in her pram, so might be worth trying without first? Because mine was breech and the whole hip thing they said not to swaddle.. x

  4. Shannon
    October 19, 2015 / 6:19 am

    This sounds so wonderful I almost wish for another baby. We wrapped our girls tightly in blankets cocooning them. It worked for making them feel secure and also kept them from scratching their little face. How nice this must be and so easy! Funny story, one night we ran into her room when she let out a terrifying scream only to find her pinching her thigh under her cocooned blanket wrap. She wouldnt let go!

    • October 19, 2015 / 10:30 am

      Haha! How bizarre! They are funny little things! x

  5. Hannah
    October 19, 2015 / 7:13 am

    Hello,
    Great review! We also have the sleepyhead for our 3 month old son and I agree he will outgrow it by 8 months… Contemplating the splurge on the next size up? I have used in his stokke cot (which I also need to buy the extension for soon) have used in our bed, around the house, round friends, for tummy time and also when we went for a much needed break at the pig.
    Have thought about putting our baby Sonny in the cot without it to sleep but can’t bare the thought of getting up even more times in the night!
    I would say that this, the solly baby wrap carrier and also babygros with mitts built in are must haves… Oh and lots of waterwipes!

    • October 19, 2015 / 10:29 am

      Ooh, going to look up the Solly now. x

      • Hannah
        October 20, 2015 / 6:58 am

        Did you have a look at the solly wrap? It’s so easy to use! I put it on when getting in the car sometimes so I can get Sonny straight out of car into it! My sister is a photographer and she does mainly children’s things so get to find out about lots of nice brands… She’s take a picture lady on Instagram. Amy and Ivor shoes and gorgeous too! X

    • Rosie
      October 23, 2015 / 7:51 pm

      Could you tell me where you got your solly wrap from? I’ve heard so many good things but can’t find a UK stockist x

  6. Linda
    October 19, 2015 / 9:13 am

    Hi Ruth,
    Your posts are always very informative and helpful, love to read them even if I’m not pregnant yet. It would be so nice if you could do a list of things you should really get before the baby gets born. I want to avoid the need to buy everything and then not using it at all. So that I’ll have a good basic equipment and then add things as I need them. thanks for your honest approach to the whole experience!
    Love and greetings from Luxembourg
    Linda

    • October 19, 2015 / 10:29 am

      Good idea! I’ll start compiling my list! x

      • carol
        October 20, 2015 / 9:02 am

        yes, I second to Linda’s request 🙂

        • October 22, 2015 / 5:15 pm

          Yes! Would love this, too!

    • Caileigh
      October 21, 2015 / 9:00 pm

      A list of what to get before the baby arrives would be wonderful! I would also love to read your thoughts on what not to buy or what you bought/were given and haven’t found useful as it seems easy to become convinced we need anything marketed to babies! I don’t want to waste time and money on things we don’t need. Thanks for this blog! I’m always laughing out loud. 🙂

  7. Helen
    October 19, 2015 / 11:51 am

    We have a 10 week old and don’t think we could be without the sleepyhead, we have also started useing the gro bag which is also good- has anyone tried this?

    • October 19, 2015 / 1:23 pm

      Yes, it’s amazing! I don’t know why it took me so long to start on the Grobags! x

  8. Kat
    October 19, 2015 / 11:54 am

    I love, love, LOVE our sleepyhead. So much so, I vacuum packed it and took it on our three week trip to New Zealand! I’m so thankful I did as it proved impossible to settle my son in a travel cot (even with the sleepyhead, ugh) that I ended up putting it in the bed in between my husband and I. He was born premature so I have never had him in the bed with us and have always used the snuzpod, I’m glad this gives me a safe co sleeping option. Also, due to his size I have gotten extra use out of both the sleepyhead and snuzpod! At one year old (9 months corrected) he is only just starting to outgrow both.

  9. October 19, 2015 / 12:38 pm

    I used my nursing pillow to get the crib more cozy. That and the fact it smelled like me made her sleep much better that she did before. But I was always worried she would get stuck under the pillow somehow, so maybe that sleepyhead is a good investment.

    Linda, Libra, Loca: Beauty, Baby and Backpacking

    • October 19, 2015 / 1:22 pm

      Yes, I suppose it just makes it much easier and less worrisome! x

  10. Eva
    October 19, 2015 / 4:19 pm

    Hello Ruth. Thanks for post & hints once again. Maybe you could also do a blog post on ” what to do, once the baby is home with you. I remembered you said that actually we always think about how to get and stay pregnant, but what to do once the baby is here?!…Im pregnant now and cant wait get your experience and comments on what is important, what should be kept in mind, hints, etc… Maybe an video would be faster for you to do….with Carolinne Hirons maybe?

  11. asiya
    October 19, 2015 / 5:16 pm

    Hey ruth im lovin your baby posts theyre so much help!!! please do a post of unnecessary baby items and what you could have done without!! will help us first time mums to be!!

  12. Lucy
    October 19, 2015 / 6:09 pm

    I felt the same about the cocoonababy by red castle. It seemed a lot of money for what was in reality a piece of memory foam but my little one slept so well in it and it was a brilliant portable bed for taking to people’s houses and going away. Some things are definitely worth the money xx

  13. Charlotte
    October 19, 2015 / 7:32 pm

    Hi Ruth!

    We didn’t purchase the sleepyhead delux after deciding to wait until baby was born to see how she slept without one. She always slept well so we never got one, however after moving her into her cot the sleeping regressed and we took the plung and purchased the sleepyhead grande!

    I can honestly say we love it!! It has made a massive difference and my 5 month daughter now sleeps through the night having had her final breastfeed at 6pm. Previous to the pod she was waking 3 or 4 times.

    The sleepyhead grande fill a good 3/4 of our cotbed so it’s not as portable but an excellent purchase!

  14. Helen Tiffany
    October 19, 2015 / 9:26 pm

    Been on a budget I’ve been contemplating getting the bigger size and using from birth…would this work or would the “snugness” be lost? I’m planning on a chicco bedside crib too and don’t know if the bigger pod would fit. Is there anywhere that stocks them so that I can go and look at them in real life? I haven’t seen them in an actual John Lewis store. Hmmm decisions, decisions. Thank you for the reviews Ruth they have been super helpful and I am eagerly awaiting my Uppababy! X

    • Laura
      October 27, 2015 / 1:48 pm

      I have the Chicco bedside crib and the smaller snuzpod basically fills it completely. I dont know what size the larger snuzpod is, but I don’t t hink it would fit at all. They have a good resell price on ebay.

  15. Josie
    October 19, 2015 / 11:23 pm

    I totally agree with the positive comments for the sleepyhead. It’s by far my must have baby item. My son is 5 months and 2 weeks ago I moved him from the small sleepyhead in his crib into the large sleepyhead into his cot. He loves it.

    • Lucy
      January 19, 2017 / 10:28 pm

      What do you use as a sheet over the grand sleepy head? The covers are so expensive!

  16. Steph
    October 20, 2015 / 8:09 am

    my little girl is 4 weeks old and is only now weighing 6lbs 4oz. (Born at 5lbs 11oz, with an initial further loss to 5lbs 7lbs) feeding and colic are an issue and is difficult to settle at night as I don’t think she likes the open space of the Moses basket. I’m wondering with her small weight whether the sleepyhead would work for us or whether the issue is elevation and therefore to buy a less expensive cot wedge?

    • Sa
      December 11, 2015 / 7:08 am

      Hi. Our daughter was born just over 5Ibs and we put her in the sleepy head straight away. We put a cushion under the sleepyhead to tilt it. The whole thing went in the cot. 3.5 months later she’s 13Ib and I think outgrowing the sleepy head. But to answer your q our daughter as fine with this arrangement

      • gatt4950
        July 18, 2016 / 3:26 pm

        Hi SA – when you say you put a cushion underneath to tilt it, do you mean you tilted it so feet were down, head higher up? Was this to help reflux?

        Thanks!

        • Vcowell
          September 14, 2016 / 7:24 pm

          Hi,

          Thought I’d jump in…

          My daughter is 7 weeks old with severe reflux, we have a bednest co-sleeper crib, the sleepyhead deluxe inside it, the whole crib tilted on blocks at one end and a wedge under the cot mattress so that the sleepyhead is tilted even further

          Baby has been sleeping soundly in 3-5 hour chunks like this since purchase at two weeks old.

          Life before the sleepyhead was hellish – I had to make a breast feeding pillow support forte around myself and baby in a feeding chair and let her sleep on my chest as this was the only position she was comfortable and wasn’t sick in, those were some scary nights.

          We use the sleepyhead all the time, and tilt it when using it around the house for play time on the floor (firm pillow under one end)

          We absolutely love it and think our little one will make it to 8 months in it as she is only 9lb10oz currently and has lots of space left

          If she doesn’t we are definitely purchasing the grande!

          • Vcowell
            September 14, 2016 / 7:25 pm

            *fort! Not forte…

  17. Aoife
    October 20, 2015 / 1:44 pm

    I totally agree the sleepyhead is amazing. We were given ours at 4 months. My son hadn’t slept well since birth. He slept fine in our arms or beside us in bed (safely) but as soon as we put him down in his cot he would wake.
    We let him fall asleep beside us in our bed in the sleepyhead and then just lifted the whole pod into his crib – worked every time! We even sometimes rocked him to sleep in the sleepyhead in our arms.
    We have just purchased the sleepyhead grand (my son is 9 months, legs were hanging off the end with buckle open but he was comfy) and it’s So much bigger, not as cosy at all, but still a great investment and looks like it will last a couple of years at least.
    xx

  18. Franca
    October 20, 2015 / 2:02 pm

    Hey Ruth do you know of anywhere I can purchase this that delivers to Australia? Thx franca

    • asiya
      October 21, 2015 / 12:17 pm

      hey try amazon.co.uk they often deliver certain products anywhere or try ebay sellers

  19. asiya
    October 20, 2015 / 6:29 pm

    hi Ruth please do a baby bjorn balance bouncer vs babymoov swoon up review as baby A has used both!!! thanks and dont ever stop pblogging!!! xx

  20. Tamar
    October 20, 2015 / 7:09 pm

    Lovely reading your posts, Ruth. I am expecting as well in January and as first time mum to be I am totally lost in this big world of endless choices. Overwhelming to be honest. Your posts help a lot to explore different items and to have an idea what is actually required and what might never be used. Looking forward to read about Grobag when you have a time to review it.

  21. Becca
    October 21, 2015 / 5:18 am

    Love the Sleepyhead. Used it from day one then stopped using it when we had that reeeeally hot period in the summer as she was getting really sweaty in it. She seemed to love the freedom of the big cot! But then she learnes to roll over and would wake up screaming, on her front, with her face mashed into the bars and not being able to get herself back over! So back in the Sleepyhead she went!

    • Natalie
      November 26, 2015 / 7:44 pm

      Haha my 7 month old did exactly the same thing when we stayed at my parents place without the sleepyhead grande, we got no sleep! The sleepyhead is worth every single penny!!!!

  22. Gaby
    October 21, 2015 / 7:46 am

    I’m a huge sleepyhead fan. I think I can say it’s the most useful thing we got for our baby. You’re right though, our son stopped fitting in the deluxe when he was around 5 months old. I’ve now packed it away, ready for the next baby! x

  23. Megan
    October 21, 2015 / 10:49 am

    Hi Ruth, brilliant review. I’m also wondering wether to get the grand as my daughter seems to have almost outgrown the delux at 4 months, so it’ll be interesting to hear what sleepyhead say about the shoulder squishing issue!

  24. Katy
    October 23, 2015 / 8:20 am

    Totally agree with you on the sleepyhead Ruth! Best baby buy ever for us. To overcome the outgrowing issue – it wouldn’t fit in the crib we eventually got next to our bed (wish we’d had a bedside crib like yours from the start) so basically i took the Sleepyhead apart and put the bumper under the cot sheet around the edge of the cot. So my daughter still feels snug but isnt as enclosed and squashed as she was in the Sleepyhead. I plan to do the same when we move her to her big cot (eek!). Not sure this would be Sleepyhead approved but as its under the tight cot sheet I don’t see a safety issue and it really provides the same effect! X

    • October 23, 2015 / 10:01 pm

      That’s a great idea. I shall try it! x

  25. Laura
    October 27, 2015 / 1:53 pm

    I love the Sleepyhead. My baby was 7lb14oz and we have the Chicco next to me crib. Each night she would wriggle upwards and diagonally out of her blankets and press her head against the side, I was terrified she would suffocate. She would also flail her arms out and wake herself. She sleeps so snugly and safely in the Sleepyhead, and I love that it can be transported around the house!

  26. Leslie
    October 27, 2015 / 1:54 pm

    I’ve never seen this or anything like it for sale in the US. Maybe it’s not approved for safety here? The trend is toward safe swaddling right now – my daughter slept like a dream in the velcro-closure swaddles until she could roll over, maybe around 4 months. In the US, they discourage use of any kind of loose blankets, crib bumpers, pillows, etc in the crib. It’s nutty, but there’s always a reason for the regulations.

    • Amelia
      July 5, 2016 / 6:40 am

      Its called Dock a Tot in the US xx

  27. Lucy
    November 9, 2015 / 8:38 am

    I used the Sleepyhead with my little boy and it was great. When he grew out of it I unpicked one of the covers and arranged the bumper bit around the edge of his cot bed for a while as a transition to nothing. The grand version wasn’t available then and I’m not sure I could justify the cost anyway. He didn’t need it and has been happy in his cotbed since. 2 day old newborn spent her first night in the sleepyhead last night. 🙂

  28. Jayne
    November 19, 2015 / 9:57 pm

    I bloody love the sleepyhead! Always recommending it to people. My little boy wouldn’t sleep in his Moses basket when he was first born, would only sleep if he was being held. My husband and I took shifts siting up through the night holding him until my mum bought us the sleepyhead. I had it on the bed next to me and was great not to have to get up for feeds etc. It also made the transition into his own room much easier, I don’t even think he noticed the difference. We upgraded to the grand when he was about 6 months because I was worried about his shoulders being squashed although it never seemed to effect his sleep.

  29. Andy
    November 26, 2015 / 4:01 pm

    Hi, expecting our first baby in a few weeks and have already ordered a Sleepyhead based on the positive reviews!

    I just wondered what the recommendations were for blankets/grobags etc to use with this?

    It looks like baby will be quite snug in the Sleepyhead so to avoid overheating is 1 thin blanket recommended?

    And would the blanket be tucked around baby or just draped on top?

    Thanks

    • Sarah
      January 30, 2016 / 10:46 am

      I’m also wondering about this, what did you decide?

  30. severine
    January 4, 2016 / 10:25 am

    Oh no now I hesitate between that one and the cocoonababy. For sure the cocoonababy can only be used for 4 to 5 monts but is seems ergononic for baby and was developped by prenatal ward to mimic foatal position. But your one looks so happy in the sleepyhead….

  31. Cristina
    January 11, 2016 / 2:54 am

    oh dear. but you can find the Baby Nest – in Sweden for much cheaper – same thing as that Seepyhead but it is 600 SEK – about 65 EUR. And they have been producing this thing for ages.

    Love the blog and the youtube channel 🙂 great info!

  32. January 24, 2016 / 9:56 pm

    We absolutely loved the sleepyhead, Arthur slept in it until he was 10 weeks old and the had to go into the sle head grande. He was a big baby.

    Then at the age of 8 month he grew out of the grande and now sleeps in his cot with nothing. However since 8 months until 10 months he had really restless sleep, waking at least once every night. But finally after 2 months of unbroken sleep he’s got used to sleeping without the the sleepyhead.

    We had 8 months of him sleep really well and was worth every penny. Unfortunately we had a large baby that grew out of them too quickly.

    Xx

  33. Kate
    March 3, 2016 / 1:11 pm

    I am a huge fan of the sleepyhead. We have had it since day one, a friend reccomended it saying the mums whose baby had it slept and those who didn’t have it didn’t sleep as well. Now that might not be the reason but it was reason enough for me. My girl is now 17 weeks and has slept through since 5/6 weeks. I totally believe the sleepy is the reason. I’m here now because I’m contemplating buying the larger one in a few months, and also wondered if I should be reusing the sleepy with an (as yet non existent) new baby or should I be getting a new one as with other mattresses – thoughts?

  34. March 25, 2016 / 12:19 pm

    I want to buy this for my friend as a gift at her baby shower.. I am worried the baby will grow out of it very fast and wondered if it was safe to put a new born straight into the grand version from 8 months?

    • March 26, 2016 / 10:32 am

      I wouldn’t say there would be much point, because it is SO massive that the baby wouldn’t be snuggled into it, which is what the aim is.. But I get you, they are very expensive!

  35. Lottie
    April 1, 2016 / 8:28 pm

    Hello, brilliant post about the sleepy head and snuzpod. We have a snuzpod and our baby is going to be early so I have been considering a pod to make it more secure and the fact that it’s. Portable. Because this is 2nd baby we need to buy a new snuzpod mattress £50, then a sleepy head on top of that. Do you think/know if you can use the sleepyhead instead of the mattress. I don’t see the point in buying both if they baby may never actually sleep on the mattress. I’m struggling to find out. Any help appreciated.

    • Sarah
      May 17, 2016 / 3:42 pm

      Hi, I’m wondering exactly the same thing. We have a second hand Snuzpod but haven’t bought a new mattress as yet. Did you get an answer?

  36. Leonie
    April 6, 2016 / 1:46 pm

    Hi Ruth

    Did you hear back about the shoulders issue? I’ve just bought the deluxe at 8 weeks and my little one is already too long and her arms don’t fit by her side! She does seem happy in it though so I’m keen to keep using it as long as it’s safe?

    Thanks!

  37. Hazel
    April 26, 2016 / 9:04 pm

    Hi, thinking about this as a buy for my next baby. Just wondering what covers you use? A grobag?

    • Laura
      June 3, 2016 / 1:49 am

      My baby sleeps in the sleepyhead grand (she’s 4months but was starting to look very snug in the deluxe) with a thin grobag and a vest underneath. She always seems fine like that not too hot.

  38. Alexa
    May 25, 2016 / 9:38 am

    I am so nearly very sold on getting a Sleepyhead! My only concern is whether by having a Sleepyhead, will my unborn babe will create a dependence on sleeping in it? So much so that when babe outgrows it (assuming I wouldn’t buy the next size up), would we just be at square one of not being settled properly with restless sleep?!

    PS. I have only just discovered this blog so can’t wait to have an explore! Thank you!

    • May 25, 2016 / 10:44 am

      I worried about that, and can only say from my own experience, but she was absolutely fine after a couple of twitchy, unsettled hours! : )

  39. Elaine
    June 15, 2016 / 4:05 pm

    Hi Ruth, I’m just wondering if you got the sleepyhead grande? My little man is 8 months and his sleep is so disrupted the past two months. He turns over, tires to crawl, wakes himself up and cries! Hence I’m looking at the sleepyhead grande. Did you find it useful?

  40. Kelly
    August 6, 2016 / 8:22 am

    Hi
    Can I ask if anyone has used a second hand sleepyhead seems as all parts are washable and is this safe as know you have to be careful with mattresses?
    Kelly

  41. Mel
    August 9, 2016 / 6:29 pm

    Hi, has anyone used the sleepyhead with a gro bag?

  42. Pamela Hughes
    August 26, 2016 / 7:58 pm

    Hi is it safe to use a sleepyhead Grande at 18weeks old?

  43. Linda
    August 28, 2016 / 1:28 am

    Hi Ruth, I love your blogs! I remember reading, and I’m almost certain it was your blog, about a little stuffed toy that was a sound machine and stuffed animal in one and you highly recommended it but I can’t find where I saw it. Did you suggest that toy?

    Thanks so much.

  44. Becca
    November 19, 2016 / 1:50 pm

    Hi Ruth, when did you move Angelica out of the sleepyhead? My daughter is 4 months old now and I think she’s getting too big for it. Can’t decide whether to try the crib/cot alone or get the sleepyhead grande! Thanks x

    • November 21, 2016 / 11:27 am

      I think that she was about five months? Does it say in any of my monthly updates? As soon as she was trying to roll over all the time, basically! x

  45. Jenny
    January 9, 2017 / 10:59 am

    Hi Ruth,

    I’ve just come across your blog after doing some research about the snuzpod and now the sleepyhead.. I’m almost 7 months pregnant and I’m pretty set on the snuzpod.. I was just wondering when you use the sleepyhead with the snuzpod do you removed the snuzpod mattress? Not sure if that is a silly question.. but I’ve read about the breathable material and wondered if we just get the snuzpod without the mattress and the sleepyhead.. thanks Jenny

    • January 13, 2017 / 10:12 pm

      I put the sleepyhead on top as my Mum bought me the crib and mattress as a set. You might want to use the crib without the sleepyhead sometimes (say if you get wee or sick all over the sleepyhead!) so I’d say a mattress is a good idea… x

  46. Kirstin
    January 17, 2017 / 5:04 pm

    Hiya!
    I’ve just come across your great blog too!
    I was wondering if you can elevate the sleepy head as my 6 week old son suffers from reflux?
    Also can you use a grobag with it?
    Thank you!

  47. Nils
    June 24, 2017 / 9:14 am

    Hey Ruth,

    my wife and I will be parents in some weeks and we also ordered the Sleepyhead Deluxe from Amazon (DE). Here its around 140 to 160 Euro and gets mostly positive reviews everywhere. I read a lot about SIDS… did you every had any bad feelings about putting your little one into the Sleepyhead? For me it feels super high quality and also very breathable, but there still remained some bad thoughts about putting our future son into the Sleepyhead.

    I mean I was a complete tummy sleeper when I was a baby … thats like 33 years ago and I am still here, but now as I will be a dad I just want to be 100% sure that my son will have a safe sleep.

    Thanks for you answer and best greetings from Germany,
    Nils

    • June 24, 2017 / 8:51 pm

      Hi Nils,
      I was concerned about this too, but it’s very firm so I can’t see how they would be able to push their face into it enough for it to be a danger. I stopped using mine so much once Angelica was trying to roll as I wanted to give her more free space, and now that Ted is nearly five months I’ll probably do the same with him. But when they’re tiny, it’s a Godsend! x

  48. Lucy Skerritt
    July 10, 2017 / 2:50 pm

    Ruth, my first baby was born 9lb 13oz and was pretty long, I’m now expecting another boy and my bump is seeming to suggest I could be having another larger baby. Before I convince the husband, will I get much usage from it before he grows out of it? What sort of age/length do you think Ted will be when you stop using it?

    • July 12, 2017 / 9:36 pm

      He’s five months now and I’m JUST about to stop using it in the crib, he’s too long and he wants to roll about! x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *